What’s News: Indy 500, 2022 is almost here

Here’s a quick reminder that one of the biggie races will take place this Sunday, May 29th. We didn’t forget about our race fans. Here’s a link to the schedule.

Six-time IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon secured the pole position for Sunday’s race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway out of 33 total cars in the field. Alex Palou and Rinus VeeKay will complete the front row.

Helio Castroneves won last year’s event.  but will start in Row 9 this year (with Colton Herta and Scott McLaughlin.) Herta is up and coming, one of the youngest drivers currently on the circuit. The last 5 Indy winners were in their 30s or 40s.

Here’s the full grid

  • Row 1: Scott Dixon (pole), Alex Palou, Rinus VeeKay
  • Row 2: Ed Carpenter, Marcus Ericsson, Tony Kanaan
  • Row 3: Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist, Romain Grosjean
  • Row 4: Takuma Sato, Will Power, Jimmie Johnson
  • Row 5: David Makulas, Josef Newgarden, Santino Ferrucci
  • Row 6: Simon Pagenaud, JR Hildebrand, Conor Daly
  • Row 7: Callum Ilott, Alexander Rossi, Graham Rahal
  • Row 8: Sage Karam, Marco Andretti, Devlin DeFrancesco
  • Row 9: Colton Herta, Scott McLaughlin, Helio Castroneves
  • Row 10: Kyle Kirkwood, Dalton Kellett, Juan Pablo Montoya
  • Row 11: Christian Lundgaard, Jack Harvey, Stefan Wilson

The last five Indy Winners started in the first three rows–including Takuma Sato who won from the first two rows twice (2017 & 2020). Historically, American teams have won at the Indianapolis Speedway, but recently foreign drivers have dominated.

Formerly known as the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race, takes place the last weekend of May. What sets it apart from other races is the open-cockpit formula style cars, which this year will top 233 MHP.

This is the top level of American Championship Car racing, and the event is often billed as The Greatest Spectacle in Racing. It is also part of the Tripple Crown of Motorsports alongside the Monoco Grand Prix and Le Mans.

The first ever Indy 500 was won by Ray Harroun in 1911. The most successful drivers are A. J. FoytAl Unser Sr.Rick Mears and Hélio Castroneves, each with four wins. Obviously Helio would like to get a fifth win before he retires.

Most unique among the racing traditions here is that the winner is handed a giant bottle of milk in Victory Lane.

Marcus Ericsson


Congratulations to this years winners:

Winner Marcus Ericsson

Total time: 2:51:00.6432
Chip Ganassi Racing


Pato O’Ward
Total time: 2:51:02.4361
Arrow McLaren SP

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.